4th Weigh In … 3 pounds down (22 total since start)

Well, hello.  If there was ever a week for more stress/emotional eating, this would be it.  So proud to say I have stayed 100% compliant.  It sure was not easy!

Shortly after my weigh-in, my father-in-law passed away.  My husband was traveling so I took my girls down to say ‘goodbye’ and spend time with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law (my son was sick and we didn’t want to infect his little cousin or the residents of the nursing home).  It was a rough evening, as we learned of his passing shortly after we returned home.  The afternoon involved a couple of trips through the McDonald’s drive-thru to feed the kids and I really just wanted to consume an entire bag of french fries.

Friday evening we all attended a HUGE Halloween party that our good friends throw every year.  It a night normally filled with WAY too much alcohol for me and lots of good food.  This year, I drank Diet Coke and a lot of water.  Every few hours I ate a PB Optifast bar.  You know, I thought I would be miserable but I really was fine.  I guess I don’t have to drink to have fun….who knew?

Saturday was a day I won’t forget for a long time – my first trip to the Emergency Room!  I took my oldest daughter to her basketball game Saturday night and one of her teammates had a nasty knee injury.  Evidently, screaming children sends me into a shock-y, nauseous state of existence and, before I knew it, I was in trouble.  I tried to leave the gym but quickly sat back down.  The next thing I knew, I was coming back to consciousness on the gym floor – with about 6 adults raising my legs, bringing me Gatorade and calling 911!  Soooo embarrassed.  I have never passed out in my life (even from drinking).  I came back pretty quickly and was able to talk to the paramedics and stop them from coming.  I promised to have my husband drive us home – which he did.  On the way home though I started worrying about whether the low calorie Optifast diet had anything to do with me actually passing out so I called Dr. Z’s answering service.  He quickly called back and told me I really needed to get to the ER to make sure something more serious wasn’t going on.  Then he asked to talk to my husband and told him the same thing.  So, off we went.  One day after returning home from a business trip for his dad’s funeral, my husband is now taking me to the ER on a Saturday night to get checked out.  Ugh.  So, very long story short, I was 100% fine.  They did an EKG, blood work, urinalysis, etc. and sent me home (a short 3.5 hours later).  The ER doc knew Dr. Z and knew I was good hands as far as the low calorie diet went.  I had even seen the girl that had the knee injury leave the ER and, coincidentally, the ER doc I was assigned had heard about me passing out from her!

Sunday, following up my ER excitement, I got up early with 2 of my kiddos and we ran a 5K race.  I wore my heart rate monitor and was very careful to not push too hard.  I had nothing to prove and I really didn’t want a repeat trip to the ER.  My heart rate was really high during the whole race.  Probably the ‘excitement’ of being in a race and also, possibly, due to the phentermine I am taking as an appetite suppressant.

My father-in-law’s funeral was on Tuesday and the whole family was together from morning to night.  Again, lots of alcohol and food – like my favorite food – Mexican restaurant appetizers.  I stayed strong….SO HARD.

It is that time of the month and I felt really bloated and awful for my weigh-in today but, surprisingly, I was down another 3 pounds.  I also showed a 3.5 pound fat loss.  I’ll take it!

Finally, on Saturday (long before the ER excitement), I attended a class by another great psychologist, Kim Feinstein – Eat Mindfully..Live Mindfully.  Good stuff!

This entry was posted in Exercise, Optifast, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 4th Weigh In … 3 pounds down (22 total since start)

  1. Pingback: Sick Day | optifastmom

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

