It is a *VERY* Merry Christmas!

The craziness continues but I have a moment to reflect on a few things before the kids get home from school.  This week has been filled with Christmas performances at the school (so sO SO CUTE!) and holiday parties in their classrooms.  Tonight is a band concert, Boy Scout party, and tomorrow is my son’s class party followed by my daughter’s gymnastics team party.  Of course, all of this requires about 600 trips to the store for snacks, gifts, frosting, more frosting, potluck dishes, etc. My husband has been traveling for work 5 out of the last 8 weeks – he just got home last night and I am soooo glad to have him back to help out!

But, in the middle of all of that, I managed to get to 2 classes this week at Scottsdale Weight Loss.  One whole class was just about carbs.  We learned a few things about them and some ideas for when we incorporate them back into our diet.  I have the palate of a 5 year old so there will be some challenges but she (the dietician) suggested to do what we can and try to add healthier things in as we go.  So that is what I will try to do.

Yesterday I attended the class I really was looking forward to about “Dieter’s Mentality”.  Unfortunately I had to leave a bit early for the above mentioned Christmas performance but I got the basic idea.  I think that is one of those classes that would be best to re-attend after being in transition or maintenance for a while – just to check in and re-evaluate.  I learned that I really don’t have much of a Dieter’s Mentality (which is a good thing) except for maybe 2 areas – the first being jumping on the scale too much.  I tend to weigh myself A LOT.  Apparently excessively.  I don’t really have much reaction to the number, really.  I think I am just curious more than anything.  I have learned that my weight fluctuates SO MUCH during any given day that I absolutely cannot take the number as a sign of much either good or bad.  I guess I like the idea of trying to figure out where I might be with my next weigh-in.  I like to know what the number on the “total board” might be.  I really can’t set any goals for myself because I am pretty much completely compliant and I’m exercising appropriately.  The rest is up to my body to determine what it is going to do – I can’t get overly upset or happy with any of that.  And, once a month, who the hell knows what it is going to do.  But, in general, getting on the scale has been a very positive reinforcement of some of the 5x day eating sacrifices I have made.  It is a reward.  Losing weight is a gift for the hard work.  Sometimes it doesn’t happen and that is totally OK, but most of the time I am pleasantly surprised.  I think the danger is when your attitude about this is totally made or broken based on what the scale says.  If that is the case, I wouldn’t be doing it.  Also, in maintenance, it is not healthy to use that number as a green light to eat a bunch of not great stuff because you didn’t gain any weight at that particular moment.  So, I learned that I should probably make some changes – the psychologist suggested no more than one time per day and always the same time (probably first thing in the morning).  So, I’ll work towards that. The second issue to work on is putting everyone’s needs above my own. I’m taking good steps towards that but as a mother, it is extremely difficult! I want so much for my kids, and I want them to find their passion (hence all of the driving them around to activities). I do try as much as I can to have them help me with household chores and just backing off of “extra” activities when it stretches me and my time too thin.

And this morning I weighed in at Scottsdale Weight Loss to another glorious 4 pound loss.  I am rapidly approaching the 50 pound mark which is so exciting!  Dr. Ziltzer seems very happy with my progress.  Obviously I am too.  We talked about the holidays and my plans.  I told him I would like to have a couple of beers and he said that is fine and told me to try to work them off BEFORE I have them.  Figure out how many calories I will have in those beer(s?) and go to the gym and work it off … then ENJOY!  Sounds like an excellent plan.

I told Dr. Z about my strength loss and, again, he is encouraging the extra HP product after my workout – so that makes 2 – one before and one after.  Sounds like an expensive workout….

I also shared with Dr. Z that I was able to run 1/2 mile straight this week at a pretty fast pace.  I was pretty proud of that.  It is much easier to run with less weight!  As a runner himself, he was pretty excited about it … he was asking if I would train for a 5K.  I’m working on it!  I’ve actually done quite a few of them and really enjoy it but I’d love to get back to actually running most of it at my new healthy weight!  I’ll have to make a goal to get one in before it gets too hot in Phoenix again.  Time is ticking!!!

This morning my 8 year old put her arms around me and gave me a huge hug. She smiled and told me she was super proud of how skinny I am getting and she loves that she can hug me so tight now. Merry Christmas – I’ve got everything I need! 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It is a *VERY* Merry Christmas!

  1. Kathy says:

    Congrats to you on your weight loss. You’ve been doing such a great job! When I was on product and exercised a lot, I also had to take extra shakes. Either that or face a weight gain, so it’s what I did. Now that I’m on full food, I can exercise as long as I want (who knew that would be something I wanted!). I think it’s awesome that you’re running. Sounds like things are going really well and I’m so happy for you 😉 Merry Christmas.

    Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

