Dear Mom in Heaven,

Dear Mom,

IMG_0001Happy Birthday in Heaven!  Today we would have been celebrating your 76th birthday.  I miss you so much.  Thank you for giving me life and for all the blessings of a wonderful childhood.  I’m glad you got to see all 3 of your grandchildren before you left us but I wish you could be here to see them now.

After we lost you I really didn’t take care of myself, but you will be happy to know that I’m heading in the right direction now.  I know you would not have been thrilled with how much weight I put on but most of that is gone now – and I will work hard to keep it off.

Love always,
Your daughter

IMG_0007  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIMG_0005IMG_0004 IMG_0002

IMG_0003 IMG_0006

Pb250002

My mom was diagnosed with several health problems before and after I was born – including breast cancer when I was 5 and esophageal cancer shortly after I was married.  In 2005, when my youngest was 1 and I had just left my job to stay home with the kids, a brain tumor appeared – almost out of nowhere – and took her within less than 3 months.  It was unexpected and heartbreaking – especially since her mind was altered almost immediately and I didn’t really get to spend the last bit of time with my “real” mom.  I thought I had taken care of myself in the best ways possible – grief support group, etc. –  but no matter how you deal with it, it is still hard to lose someone so close.  My dad is still with me but I am an only child.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dear Mom in Heaven,

  1. Amy Romine says:

    My thoughts are with you on not only the holidays/birthdays, etc.. but everyday. I too was raised an only child (my older sister died when I was 3), and I lost my Mom to lung cancer in 2007. Most days the pain is still as fresh as it was almost 6 years ago. While I know I have the best guardian angels in the world, it breaks my heart she wasn’t here for my wedding or to know her grandson. My Dad is still with us, and we see him numerous times each month, and that I cherish.

    Like

  2. Pamela says:

    Lovely tribute to your mom. I lost my mom back in 1998 and my dad just last year. I guess that makes me an orphan 😉 But I do have my brother and a pretty close extended family. Even though it’s been a long time, I think it’s good to spend some concentrated time remembering our lost loved ones.

    Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

