No Sweat

I remember when I filled out the mountain of paperwork at Scottsdale Weight Loss before starting on the program, there was a question about the issues excess weight was causing in my life.  Obviously at 100 pounds overweight, the list could be quite long.  At that particular time though, I clip-art-sweating-970447remember the thing that was bugging me the most was that I was sweating … A LOT.  It didn’t help that it was late September in Phoenix and we had just endured another 5 months of crazy heat.  But I was tired of being really sweaty much of the time.

Now, I’ve always been a “sweater” – even at my thinnest points in my life.  But all that extra weight was doing me no favors.  I was beginning to think I was peri-menopausal and starting hot-flashes.  There might be some truth to that – I believe all that extra weight can mess with hormone levels (haven’t done any research on this – I think I just heard that).  A friend turned me on to a great product –  Sweat Block.  This stuff is a miracle worker and it really did help improve my situation.  But I still sweat a lot on my face and head – kinda hard to do much about that.  I was also a frequent purchaser of the “clinical strength” deodorants, always looking for something to slow the water works down.

Perhaps the main problem my sweating caused was time related though.  I absolutely could not, no way in hell, consider working out at the gym and then doing anything else other than go straight home and shower.  This means that I would need a good 2 hour block of time for exercise – when factoring the drive time, workout time, then home to shower, etc.  My whole day had to be arranged around this.  I was always a little jealous of people that could go to the gym, work out, then run errands afterward.  Seems like a little thing but busy moms thrive on multi-tasking throughout the day.

Over the past month I have noticed something pretty remarkable….my sweating has decreased significantly.  I still sweat a lot if I work out really really hard, but a fairly normal workout does not send me running for the showers.  I have been running on the track during my son’s football practice and I would feel pretty comfortable actually talking to someone afterward.  Instead of being really hot all of the time, I am finding myself really cold (and therefore not sweating) most of the time.

I guess what I am feeling is that sweating was starting to take a toll on me emotionally.  I was thinking about it a lot back in September.  I was sick of it and knew it was tied to my weight in many ways.  Losing the weight has shed so many of those little things that bothered me – allowing me to enjoy life more fully.  We’ll see how things are going this summer when we approach the 115+ degree temperatures in Phoenix!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Sweat

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi Martha
    I will be starting my Optifast journey this coming Thursday and I am getting anxious. I found your blog through some google searches trying to find more personal info that people have experienced with the plan. I am 43 and have struggled with weight my whole life. I am so tired of being tired and have tried so many things. I am very optimistic about Optifast but I am a little scared too. Not sure what to expect so thats why i am trying to get other perspectives from people who have gone through the plan. i appreciate your blog though because you are a busy mon and you find time for it all; family,exercise and life. Thanks

    Like

    • Hi and thanks for your comments. I’m not going to say it was easy but looking back, going through the Optifast program was the best gift I could ever give myself. I hope that you have a good clinic or doctor that you are working with and really take advantage of the education portion of Optifast because it is relatively easy to lose the weight but learning how to deal with food from now on is key. Please keep me updated – I would love to hear how things are going for you. The first week or two might be really hard but it does get easier. There are support groups on Facebook – search for “Optifast Support” if that interest you.

      Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

