Best Laid Plans

Well we are now almost 48 hours into spring break.  So far, so good – except for a few little things which I am just rolling with.  It would appear my baby girl is sick.  Not a great way to start her vacation.  She has been complaining of a sore throat since last night and now I think she has a fever.  She told me today that the two girls she sits next to in school were both out with strep throat.  I kinda hope that is what she has because that is one of my “favorite” illnesses, if there is such a thing.  Usually, a few doses of antibiotics takes care of it and life can resume.  So, I’ll try to get her an appointment at the pediatrician’s office tomorrow first thing.  I’m glad we aren’t on a fancy vacation right on with her being sick.  There is no place like home when you feel lousy!

The weather is, as advertised, beautiful – 79 degrees and sunny.  Since things have sort of slowed down, I took the “well” kids on a long walk with our doggie this afternoon.  Usually we just don’t have the time for this so it was nice to get out – I’m sure Warner (our schnoodle) enjoyed it too.  As a side note, we saw Kurt Warner (our dog’s namesake) at my son’s basketball game yesterday.  His son was playing on the court right before mine – we see him at the games or practices pretty often.  He was standing next to me for about 5 minutes messing around with a basketball after the game – some day I’ll get up the nerve to talk to him and show him a picture of our dog.  He just seems so nice but I never want to interrupt his time he is spending with his son.

Last night we celebrated the baby girl’s 9th birthday (before she was feeling too sick) at Benihana.  I knew I’d probably eat more than normal but figured I could get lean meat (filet mignon) and shrimp … and salad and veggies.  Perfect, that is, until “Hideo”, our chef, used a gallon of butter and oil to cook it all with.  I probably could have stopped him and asked for my stuff to be cooked without all of that but I decided to just let it go.  It was super loud and we already had a bit of a language issue and it wasn’t worth the hassle.  I’ve been doing very well with this plan and really spent a lot of time exercising this week.  The nice thing was that after I got home I was able to look up Benihana dishes on My Fitness Pal and enter everything in that I ate and I was still well under recommendedIMG_0716 daily calories (but I’m still in weight loss mode so I was above what would be considered for a partial plan daily intake).  Oh well.  I’m not going to sweat it.   I did eat all of my zucchini – so that is a positive improvement for me!  My husband ran to a store in the shopping center while we were waiting for the bill – and they took this picture with me and the kids – wish all of us had been there.

The playroom project is coming along pretty well.  Made a little progress this morning.  I IMG_3360set a timer and told the kids we would all work together for a good hour and they were very helpful.  After pulling furniture away from the walls, I got the vacuum out to get all of dust bunnies, etc. up and realized the it is not working right, at all.  So I spent another hour working on the vacuum rather unsuccessfully.  Everything always takes 5x longer than what I have planned.  So I will now add going to a vacuum repair store to my list along with the pediatrician.  Again, just gonna roll with it…

Anyway, I guess I never really updated my blog about my appointment with Dr. Ziltzer last week.  Nothing too exciting to report.  I did lose another 5.5 pounds over the past 2 weeks on the ‘partial plan’ which takes me to an official 85 pounds gone!  Yippee!  I guess I just stay on this plan until I hit my goal – which is about another 15 pounds.  That should take another 6 weeks I’m guessing, all things staying about the same.  We talked about the running and he gave me some suggestions on my workouts.

I’m super excited!  I just checked online at my personal Koko Fit Club page and, as of Friday, I am in the “Koko Fit Zone”.  This is basically a healthy BMI.  Koko uses a body IMG_3366composition scale (with Tanita scale innards) to calculate lean muscle mass, etc. and gives you a score along with a graph over time).  I have been inching towards this goal  – the needle was pegged WAY on the outskirts for a long time!  As for the running, per my discussion with Dr. Z, on Mondays I’m going to run at a comfortable mile pace but increase my distance by .2 miles every week.  Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays I’m going back to running the mile and increasing my speed ever so slowly (like I had been doing – building on the 5mph speed I achieved this past week).  Fridays I will do some interval training.  I tried this 2 days ago on Friday – I ran at about 4.5 mph but increased to 6mph for .05 miles 5 times during the mile (around the .2, .4, .6, .8, .95 mile points).  Changing up the routine a little every day should keep me interested too.  I also did a killer weights workout Friday after running that mile so I left the gym having burned a lot of calories.  Speaking of weight training, I took my iPad to my appointment with Dr. Z and showed him my dramatic strength decline using the graph on my Koko Fit webpage.  I had mentioned this a couple of times but I think I should have showed him the graph a long time ago – he was pretty concerned and said I really need more post-workout protein to preserve that muscle.  I doubt anyone had ever been able to actually show him data like that before, another benefit of the data and web interface I have with Koko.  I had been doing post workout protein most days, but clearly not enough.  He said there is not enough protein in the regular Optifast bars or shakes to help with muscle rebuilding.  He told me I could also switch around my HP shake and have it after the workout and have a regular bar/shake pre-workout.  I’m supposed to really get on that and tell him right away if things aren’t improving.  Oops.  One of my new favorite protein/veggie combos is eggs with cauliflower.  I have been using my blender ball (normally used to make the Optifast shakes) and adding 1 large egg, 2 large egg whites, a small spoon of light sour cream, several tablespoons of fresh salsa, and about 1/4 cup of pureed cauliflower.  I shake it up and cook it in a pan sprayed with olive oil PAM.  It makes a great post-workout recovery snack or even a quick dinner.

IMG_3344 IMG_3347

My hubby and I went to a party last night after dinner.  I wore my new maxi skirt and a simple black t-shirt.  I also finally got my hair cut and hi-lighted yesterday too so I felt and looked pretty good.  It was fun to see some of my husband’s co-workers/friends that I haven’t seen since before the holidays.  Lots of compliments.  It feels so great to wear cute clothes!  I’m attaching another photo from my son’s award ceremony at school.  I literally did not recognize myself in this picture.

IMG_0712 IMG_3339

So, life is good.  I hope we are able to enjoy the things we have planned over spring break!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Best Laid Plans

  1. Tami says:

    Love the maxi skirt! You look great; keep it up!

    Like

  2. Sara says:

    You look awesome Martha!

    Like

  3. Pamela says:

    You do look great! That maxidress is nice! The playroom project sounds familiar! We are doing the same — cleaning up our kids’ “toy room” — so their cousin (21yo) can come stay with us (in that room) for a few months. Should be interesting! Good luck with your project — I agree with just rolling with it. There’s not much else you can do other than stress, right?

    Like

  4. Kathy says:

    You’re doing so great! I really appreciated your detail of the conversations with your doctor regarding your exercise and need for protein after a workout. I’ve been trying hard to make sure I’m doing the right thing with the workouts so it helps to hear as much as advice as possible.

    Like

    • Yes, lesson learned unfortunately about the protein. He referred to it all along but now I’m really seeing the effects. I let the fact that I didn’t want to spend even more $$ on the Optifast HP shakes (more than I already was on the 1 per day) – along with usually wanting an Optifast bar rather than a shake in the late morning – guide me rather than giving my body what it apparently really needed. Who knows, maybe it wouldn’t have mattered. I haven’t noticed that I need the extra protein for cardio workouts – just the strength training when I am lifting weights for 30 minutes or more. I’m sure a lot of my strength decline comes from the fact that I have 85 less pounds behind what I’m trying to lift but it is weird to see such a huge drop. On a positive note, my arms and legs are pretty toned now that the fat is off of them!

      Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

