Maintaining

I am now about one week into “Active Maintenance”.  I am feeling a little unsettled but I can’t quite put my finger on it.

Much of it has to do with the crazy amount of things that are “up in the air” with our life right now.  Practically nothing has been confirmed for this summer – usually by this time I have our trips planned and our camps registered for.  I have only about 10% of that done this year.  I do have my girls’ spa weekend planned for this summer with my college roommates in Santa Fe.  So looking forward to that!  And last night I bought airline tickets for a long weekend getaway with just my husband to Portland – also in June.  We haven’t had a trip alone in a few years so we are excited to go visit somewhere new and reconnect a little – it will be nice to have a conversation that doesn’t start with “Can you pick up [insert child name] from [insert activity location] at….?”

I had another crazy emotional kid/sports-related weekend last weekend and it is causing me to re-think all of their activities and how we need to be operating as a family for the summer and looking ahead to next year.

I am SO sick of eating “lean protein and vegetables” I could scream!  The funny thing is now I would rather have Optifast products.  Since greek yogurt is on our lean protein list, my favorite meal now is yet another smoothie.  I’ve been blending a few frozen banana chunks with strawberries, greek yogurt, 6-8 oz. skim milk, ground flaxseed, and spinach.  It is a pretty decently balanced “meal” and refreshing in the heat.  I can also take it in the car with me for my dinner-time mom-taxi driving.  Somehow I feel like this is “cheating” but it is not, in the slightest.  It is just a different type of meal.  Nobody said I had to have a warm plate of chicken and steamed vegetables every night.  Anyway, I think the addition of a little bit of starch would do me some good.  I’m looking forward to that.  A baked potato.  A slice of low calorie whole grain bread even to put my turkey on.  I just need to be patient.

On Friday morning I go back to Scottsdale Weight Loss for my Resting Metabolic Rate (RMR) testing.  I’m really curious to see where my daily calorie needs will be.  I think part of my uneasiness now is that I am still eating very few calories but maintaining my weight.  I know what I am consuming now is much lower than what my RMR will show – so I just wonder how all of this will work out.  Oh well, I will just have to learn that in the coming weeks.

For now, I am thrilled to be where I am at.  I’m just too busy to really enjoy it right now….

This entry was posted in Optifast Maintenance, RMR, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

