A New (and Old) Identity

Tuesday afternoon I decided to take care of something that has been on my list of “things to do after I lose weight” and that is to go to the Department of Motor Vehicles and have a new driver’s license photo done and change my weight.  I was met shortly inside the door by a line that snaked around the information desk about 30 people deep, but I was determined to get this done.  I told the lady at the front desk that I was there to have my picture redone – I think she thought I was nuts to go sit in a packed waiting room just for that, but off I went.  In reality, since it was a fairly simple change, I was barely seated before I was called for the photo.  I had to sit again to talk with a DMV agent at the window to pay, etc. but it was probably only another 30 minutes for that.  By luck I ended up with a sweet older grandmother-ly type lady that was overly excited about making this change to my license.  She was giddy.  And she talked and talked and talked about diets and weight loss and her heart issues, etc. – no wonder the lines are SO LONG.

I had a practical reason for wanting to get the change done too though – I am sick of having to present my ID with my credit card and having the cashier look at me up and down and wonder if I am being fraudulent.  Sometimes they even say – “Wow, this doesn’t really look like you” and then I feel obligated somehow to mention that I’ve lost a bit of weight.  Sometimes that is fun, sometimes I just want to move along with my day.  I really got nervous this weekend when I was flying and had to present ID to TSA.  Now I know they see everything and I do still look close enough but, again, I really didn’t want any hassles.  I think I read on our passport information that you should have photos redone if you have changed by more than 50 pounds – so 100 is definitely warranted!

I should also note that in the state of Arizona, our licenses don’t expire until we are 65 years old – another 20+ years for me.  I believe every 10 years or so we need to go get a new photo done but I just did that in 2012 before starting Optifast.

So, here we have the “before” and “after” driver’s licenses.  I can’t believe how “puffy” I looked.  I should also note that the “220” was not even remotely close.  Maybe when I originally had my license issued it was, but not when that updated picture was taken – that was probably closer to 250 lbs.  Like the majority of us do, I estimated “low” on my new license as well.  I was 169 when it was taken but I did see 165 last week (briefly) – so I think that is fair 🙂

IMG_4069

People often ask me if I “feel like a new person”?  Well, it definitely feels somewhat strange to be in a thin body.  I had been overweight for over 12 years but, prior to that, I was pretty slim.  So, I think a more accurate answer to that question is “actually, I feel like myself again”.  I’ve read about people that can get uncomfortable with their new thinner body and still wear excessively large clothes.  Somehow they don’t identify with their new exterior.  I guess I am, again, very grateful that this is familiar territory for me.  I hope I don’t take it for granted but I am 100% sure I have no desire to lose myself again.  Just as an additional reminder, tonight I found my student ID card from college.  This was taken almost 25 years ago when I was an incoming freshman at SMU in Dallas, TX.  I was probably barely 18 years old.  I think I look more like this kid now than I did this time last year.

IMG_4072

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New (and Old) Identity

  1. Tami says:

    Worth the wait (worth the weight? haha) in line. The new picture looks amazing! 🙂

    Like

  2. Sara says:

    Awesome! my forever weight on my DL is 228. I’m obviously lower and I’ve moved so I need to get a new license too. Thanks for reminding me 🙂

    Like

  3. Kathy says:

    You look awesome Martha! I think it’s awesome that you were willing to deal with DMV to get your ID changed. You’ve changed, so your picture should too.

    Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

