Maintaining?

I haven’t updated the blog in almost a week.  Things have been going pretty smoothly but I’m not too sure how I feel about the way I have been eating lately.

I was worried, rightfully so, that being on vacation and not watching things very carefully might cause some issues.  Overall, I am eating decent meals.  But I think I have woken up what I now believe is a sugar addiction that went into remission while on Optifast.  We have had some candy lying around our kitchen shelves for a really long time.  Since my kids just don’t seem to ever eat the stuff they get for holidays, I really just need to throw it away.  When I was purely on Optifast products and being very very “good”, I was not tempted by it in the least.  But now, especially after eating desserts regularly on vacation, I am finding myself starting to pick at this stuff and take a little nibble here and there.  But all that adds up and now the piles are getting smaller and smaller.

The trouble is, I guess, is that I am not gaining any weight.  In fact, even with rather poor choices, my weight is staying below goal.  I attribute this to my exercise routine.

I have learned several things in this journey.  You cannot out-exercise poor eating.  Prior to starting to lose weight with Dr. Ziltzer, I did have a very good exercise routine.  Pretty much the same, if not more, than what I am doing now.  However, I ate completely inappropriately thinking that my good workout somehow “earned” me that right.  So, now I have reset my body, my metabolism, my blood chemistry … pretty much everything.  I have worked and worked to rebuild my lean muscle mass and it is finally, slowly, coming back.  I have pushed through miles and miles of jogging then running to get to a point to where I can run a mile or two without thinking I am going to die.  The payoff, I can eat many things now and not gain 5 pounds overnight.  I guess I can’t decide if I am getting away with something or if this is what it is all about – a balance between moderate eating and exercise.  I guess time will tell, but I need to keep my eye on things – like every single day.

So, tomorrow is my birthday.  While I was typing this up tonight, I got an automated email from my gym, Koko Fit Club:

Wishing you a very HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Martha, from all of us at   Koko FitClub.

(Remember, with Koko, you can have your cake, and eat it too!)

ENJOY!!

Birthday

With Koko, “I can have my cake and eat it too”.  Yes, tomorrow I shall have cake.  And Portillo’s 🙂

But I need to always be vigilant that I don’t slip back into old habits; especially, justifying food because I worked out.  I have also read/been told that food should not be a reward for working out.  You don’t work out to have <insert food item here>.  It is a bit of a mixed message, isn’t it?  I guess that is exactly why I believe in food / exercise journals (like MyFitnessPal) – to help understand where that balance of calories in / calories out is.

What I do know is that tomorrow I turn 43 years old.  I am so excited at the changes I made this year.  I didn’t set out to make this year the one where I turned things around, but I am forever grateful that the pieces fell into place for me to learn about Scottsdale Weight Loss when I did.  I had been looking for something that felt “right” and I knew almost immediately when I found it.  It is the best birthday gift I could have received and given to myself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maintaining?

  1. Tami says:

    Happy birthday (tomorrow!) You have so much to celebrate! 🙂

    Like

  2. Carole M. Ottawa, Canada says:

    WOW what a beautiful and truthful blog. You are so inspiring. Your courage has helped me decide that I will join the Optifast900 clinic which is less than a 10 minute walk from my residence. (starting in 6 weeks). My goal is 80 lbs less. Keep up the good work and please do continue to update you web site. Hope your birthday was all that you hoped for. Best wishes for a healthy year.

    Like

    • Wow, thanks Carole for leaving a comment! I so rarely hear from anyone reading this blog – I really appreciate the feedback. I am so glad that you have decided to join an Optifast clinic. It really has changed my life in so many ways and I’m excited for the changes you will see. You can definitely lose those 80 pounds before you know it! Please keep me updated, I would love to hear about your progress!

      Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

