My New Toy

Good Saturday morning to you.  We went to our first high school football game as parents of a high-schooler last night and, I gotta say, it was pretty fun.  Our Huskies lost the game but they made a great comeback and had a chance.  I spent most of my high school years in the marching band so I always had to sit with the band and not get to roam around the stands like other high school kids.  Our band was over 250+ kids though so it was pretty fun – and we were good!  But last night I got to see how a “non-band family” gets to enjoy a football game.

I mentioned last time that my weight had jumped to an above-goal high but I wasn’t too worried because of all the muscle soreness I was experiencing.  Sure enough, I backed down on my weight training and all-around exercise until I felt better (it took a couple of days) and the weight dropped as expected, perfectly in step with each day of decreased soreness.   I knew I had to be filled with extra water and lactic acid.  I recorded my food intake and stuck around 1800 calories per day.

IMG_5200

Over the past week I decided to make a decision about getting a GPS running watch.  I took the time to look into the capabilities of my old Polar watch and remembered that it is using incredibly old technology (pre-Windows 7 and downloads data using the computer’s microphone!)  So, um, no…..I won’t be attempting to do that in today’s age of wireless Bluetooth connectivity.  All along I assumed I would be getting one version or another of a Garmin.  I almost just ordered a Garmin 110 but decided to look into it a bit more.  I usually start with reviews on Amazon, realizing that they aren’t always a cross-section of reality, but more a collection of opinions of people either really pissed off, people who have just ordered the item and barely used it, or people who bought something as a gift for someone else and were “told” that it is great.  But, the more I read, the more I realized that there were some shortcomings with the Garmin that I should investigate further.  It also seemed that the models I were looking at had been around for quite some time.  After taking a few models in and out of my Amazon cart, I decided to drive to the closest running store and get their opinion.  They were not incredibly helpful but they did show me the Nike + running watch, which is powered by the TomTom GPS and it had some nice advantages too – including a small possibility that I could use my Polar HRM with it that I already owned.  So, I drove back home, empty handed but started to get more excited about the Nike watch than the Garmin.  Again, I then almost went ahead and bought it several times.  Aaaaargh.   I did some Google searches comparing the Garmins and Nikes and then the newest TomTom Runner came onto my radar.  It seems to be relatively new to the scene.  There wasn’t much data about it but the reviews seemed rather favorable and it incorporates some of the latest technology.  It has a built-in accelerometer so a footpod is not needed (this helps improve accuracy if satellite data is not available and/or you are running inside on a treadmill).  It has heart-rate monitor capability.  It has an unusual charging and connection system (it detaches from the watchband – which may or may not be good).  The TomTom runner is probably one of the thinnest in profiles which is nice.  I IMG_5189think what caught my attention the most was on Amazon, the reviews were favorable but for those that weren’t, there was a response from TomTom customer service on just about every issue – either providing technical support or promising to address it with the development team.  They have been providing many software patches which download every time the device is charged.  I guess I liked to see the genuine effort to improve the device – even if it was maybe rushed to market.  So, I took the plunge and ordered it.  It just felt right – and I knew it would be relatively easy to just return it to Amazon if I decided I didn’t like it.

So, here are some images.  I haven’t had a chance to run with it yet but I am looking forward to later this afternoon up in the mountains at our cabin – where it should be much much cooler!

IMG_5190 IMG_5191 IMG_5192 IMG_5193 IMG_5194 IMG_5195 IMG_5196 IMG_5198

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Toy

  1. Lynn Watson says:

    Very cool….. I have been looking for something … Thanks for doing the leg work

    Like

    • Well, first run with it is in the books and I liked it. Still need to figure a few things out but it seems to serve my needs for now. I’m sure more experienced runners would like more info but I was able to see pace, average pace, distance, elapsed time, etc. without fiddling around with it too much.

      Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

