By the Numbers

Just updating a few graphs and numbers today – nothing too exciting.  We had a nice IMG_5210weekend up north at our cabin but apparently I ate WAY too much.  I’m a bit disappointed in myself because last Saturday before we left town I had gotten my weight back down to where I wanted it and now this morning I have managed to put close to 6 pounds back on?!  Not freaking out, just ticked at myself.  I know I’ll get it back off but as we head into another vacation long weekend I was hoping to be ahead, not behind.  I ate a lot of sodium and carbs this weekend – gotta learn that despite running 7 miles, I can’t just eat whatever I want!

I took my new GPS watch – the TomTom Runner – with me to the cabin this weekend to try out.  It was a little slow to capture the GPS satellite but it found it in about a minute.  I ran 4 miles on Saturday afternoon.  Our place is at about 6500′ elevation and our subdivision has some fairly steep hills.  It was a great workout.  I ran through and out the subdivision and then west along the bike path that runs along the highway for about another mile each way.  It was about 30 degrees cooler than it is in Phoenix and I got rained on!  It was heavenly!  On the way back in I took a slightly different route and weaved around through the shopping area in our community before heading back home.  On Sunday, I did a simple out and back 3 mile route, following pretty closely to the first part of Saturday’s run.  It was not quite as cool and I pushed the pace, even on the hills, so I was really happy to come in with a 11:57 average.  The GPS watch was handy to have so I could monitor pace and distance.  I don’t have the heart rate monitor yet so I don’t have that data.  The watch interface if pretty basic and I’m not sure if that is OK with me yet or not.  At the end of the run, you simply stop it and it saves the history.  Unfortunately, from what I can tell, you can’t get very much information about your run from the history menu screens though on the watch – just basic information like distance and time.  However, after uploading the data to your computer using the little dock, you get pretty detailed information.  As an example, here is the data from my 3 mile run this morning:

090313

I’m a little confused about the data for this morning’s run because, according to the average pace displayed on the watch, I had a 11:46 / mile average.  I was pushing pretty hard on the last mile towards the end even though the first part was slow since I run uphill to get home.  The only thing I can think of that is causing the discrepancy is that I had to wait a really long time at the light to get back home.  Usually I don’t wait too long and I don’t have to worry about it messing with my pace but today I paused the GPS watch when I realized I would be waiting a while – maybe that is where the issue is.  The time for my 3rd mile is longer than I would have expected (but is about right if factoring in the light).  Anyway, I’ll have to do some research.  I don’t know what the point of pausing the workout is if it doesn’t adjust the data somehow.  After I reached the 3rd mile, I walked the rest of the way home but left the watch running so I could see what the mileage was (for future reference).  Unfortunately I forgot to stop it until after I had been home for a few minutes.  So, I have a little more to figure out but, so far, I’m pretty happy with it.  I’m not sure though if not being able to review data is an issue or not.  I can see how after a race or something, you might want to go back and look and not have to wait until you have a computer to connect to.  I would hope that someday it could just upload to an app using the Bluetooth capability.

Anyway, the bottom line is that I have run 3+ miles several times in the past week and have been able to maintain a 12:00 mile or better.  So, that is progress!

Today after my run I headed into Koko to get my strength test completed.  I have been pretty excited about this test because I had put in some effort to keep up with the weight training.  In retrospect, doing the test after waking up at 5:45 AM and running 3 miles in nasty-humid-energy-draining weather was probably not a smart move.  I felt a bit lethargic as I did the test this morning.  The results weren’t as bad as I feared, but they sure don’t show much progress:

strength_gain_090313

I was happy to see my “Q score” jump up quite a bit though.  This score is strength-to-body weight calculation and I’m happy to see that for my body size, I am stronger than your average 40-something year old female.

q_score_090313

Not much has changed with my lean muscle level:

lean_muscle_090313

or my (enhanced) BMI:

ebmi_090313

IMG_5212

My 20-week half marathon training plan

So, plans for the near future are to get my diet and weight back under control using good ol’ meal planning and possibly a few meal replacements.  I will head back for another round (no pun intended) of Jabz boxing tomorrow morning (I’m scared!).  And finally I am officially 20 weeks out from the P.F. Changs Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon in January so I am beginning to follow a training plan.  There are many plans out there – most of them are 12 or 16-week plans but this is a 20 week one.  Most of the mileage for the first couple of weeks are distances I am already running.  I’m hoping to just get more and more comfortable with them and perhaps increase my speed a little.

There is something else very exciting happening in my running future (and really, my life!) but I’m not quite ready to share the news just yet….

This entry was posted in Exercise, half marathon, Koko Fit Club, Optifast Maintenance, TomTom Runner. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to By the Numbers

  1. Caitlin says:

    Thanks so much for linking me here, Martha. Really helpful information. Think I need to dig through your archives a bit more! 🙂

    Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

