Almost the End of the Streak…

Just a quick post today.  Yesterday was really packed with one activity after another.  Since I had the appointment in the morning then went straight down to help my dad, I didn’t get my 4 mile run completed.  I spent the rest of the day and evening driving the kids around and I never had the one hour block of time needed to run.  I decided I would run during my son’s football practice … but then that didn’t work out either because they finished earlier than normal and I didn’t want to leave my youngest home alone for that long.  So, after finally making my last trip in the car at 10 pm to pick up my daughter from her choir performance at school, I was about ready to collapse from exhaustion.  I decided that, at this point, it wouldn’t matter if I ran in the morning vs. that night.  So at 10:30 pm I decided it could wait … and I started putting my pj’s on to get ready for bed.  I was brushing my teeth and had a nagging feeling that I was forgetting something….

Then I remembered….

I had not completed a mile yet.  It was “Streak Day” 298.  I almost cried.  I just wanted to go to bed.  But, instead, I took my pj’s off and put some work out clothes on and crawled onto my dreadmill treadmill in our master bedroom.  I grabbed a couple of magazines and put it on a super slow crawl of 3.0 miles/hr. and walked and walked and walked.  That mile felt longer and worse than mile 6 of my 10K last weekend.  But, I finished it … and “the Streak” is intact.  Barely.  I really don’t know how long I will keep the streak alive.  I will probably end it after one year – for reasons like tonight, if nothing else.  It has been invaluable in forcing me to keep an exercise routine but as long as I continue with a training plan for a race, I am serving the same purpose.  So, we’ll see….it will be hard to stop!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Almost the End of the Streak…

  1. Lynn says:

    So I almost did the same thing when I got busy making 72 cupcakes one week ago Sunday.. Was so tired .. Even went through the whole mental game of what if I stopped … I am at day 670 something and it is so difficult to justify stopping … I am not traing for a race and it is helping keep my weight down some… So did the same .. Jumped on the treadmill for a mile walk

    Like

  2. Renee says:

    Hi there! I found your blog and I just read every entry since October 2012. I’m starting the program this Wednesday, November 13. I’m so very nervous but so very ready. Like you, one too many Weight Watchers starts/restarts. If I have to count another point, I’ll go crazy. I have my pre-entry appointment Tuesday night and pending everything is okay, Wednesday morning is it. I have not shared this with my husband yet… that’s tonight, but I loved your story about writing it all down in an e-mail. My husband and I talk about anything and everything, too, but this conversation is making me stress a bit. Almost like it will be a “here we go again” thing… Like I said, I know he’ll be supportive, but starting the conversation makes me nervous. (We also got married in 1995!) Thanks for keeping your updates going. I’m starting at 5’8″ and 226. I’m SO ready to commit to this– I only wish I could have gotten my pre-entry appointment earlier so I could have started already. Thanks again for the awesome blog… I’m going to keep coming back to keep my motivation up!
    Renee

    Like

    • Hi Renee!
      Thanks for your post! I can’t believe you read the entire thing from end to end…I’m glad you found it motivating though! I hope everything goes well with the talk with your husband and that you get started this week. It can be challenging at some points but I hope you find it manageable and can see the benefits of sticking with it! Please keep me posted! I’m thinking about doing some “guest posts” by readers of my blog – that don’t want to deal with having their own blog – so please let me know if you might be interested in that once you get going.

      Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

