Let’s Roll! – Part 1

IMG_6281This time tomorrow morning I should be close to the finish line of my first half marathon!  I’m pretty excited, with just a touch of nervousness.  I’ve trained for this.  I know I’m going to feel like hell at the end, but I know I can get across the finish line.

So this post will be all about the prep to get ready for tomorrow.  There are lots of little things to think about, especially the first time you run a race like this.

For starters, my aches and pains are pretty well gone – so that is good.  I’m very bummed that “that time of the month” has so perfectly aligned with the race, but I’m hoping I don’t have to stop to take care of things in the middle.  I should be OK, but I wish I didn’t have to worry about that tomorrow.  Oh well.

I wrote about making a commitment to keeping up with regular pedicures several months IMG_6269ago, and I was pretty good about that until a while back I got my first black toenail from running.  I don’t think I’ve ever had onetoes_0116 bruised like that before and I guess I thought it would go away faster than it did.  I put off my pedicure too long but that toe was really starting to bother me and I was afraid for my other toes – so I went in on Wednesday and had a pedicure done before the race.  I’m really glad I did.  I got a sweet older Vietnamese woman who totally babied my feet and made my toes feel so much better – even the one that is messed up.  I also had this horrifying dream that I got injured and some cute paramedic was looking at my gross feet – so I’m glad they will be in better shape now….

Since the P.F. Chang’s Rock n’ Roll Marathon and 1/2 Marathon is such a big race, they hold a race packet pick-up at the Phoenix Convention Center downtown on Friday and Saturday before the race on Sunday.  I’m a pretty independent person but for some reason I really did not want to go to this expo by myself, so I worked out this plan with my husband and son to go downtown with me and then, coincidentally, the Phoenix SUNS had a home game next door last night as well.  Not only that, but right about the time I realized there was a home game, I received an email from Living Social with a SUNS ticket deal (including a foam finger! – haha)  Further icing on the cake was that the SUNS were playing the Dallas Mavericks – the team that has my son’s favorite player, Dirk Nowitzki.  So, it just seemed like fate.  I arranged for my youngest to get a ride home from gymnastics and that freed us up for the evening.

We headed downtown around 5pm and fought rush hour traffic for a while.  After we IMG_6307parked, we went over and picked up the SUNS tickets which were in my name in case I wanted to send the boys ahead if I decided to linger at the race expo longer than the game start time.  It was then that I realized I had left my photo ID at home!  I was so pissed at myself.  I was going to need it to pick up the SUNS tickets AND my race packet.  Both papers that I printed out to claim this stuff made a point of that.  Well, the people at the Living Social SUNS table could care less and handed our tickets (and foam fingers!) right over.  We decided to see if the race packet people would be just as kind.  I did have other non-photo ID and I hoped that would be enough – and, thank God, it was.

After picking up the race packet which includes the race bib and a bunch of pamphlets, we moved into another room and got our technical t-shirts and a bag for all of our goodies.   The expo section was pretty large and full of different vendors both handing out free samples and selling items too.  Lots of the big names in running had very large booths – brooks shoe rideBrooks even had some sort of “bull ride” except it was a giant running shoe.  It looked fun IMG_6303but the last thing I need to do is throw my back out before the race!  I purchased 2 bottles of Nuun which I have been wanting to try.  I’ve heard over and over recently to not start trying new stuff before the race because you just never know what it will do to your tummy.  So, I will save that for another time.  I did buy 3 packs of Shot Bloks thoughIMG_6302 and I have trained with those and know they are OK.  I think.  I did have some GI issues on some of my long runs when I did use Shot Blocs but I can’t really pinpoint the problem to those.  So, I guess it is a chance I’ll take.  I also have some Vanilla Bean GU which I will use.  I’ve decided that I pretty much hate GU but will continue to use it for this race.  I need to cut the vanilla flavor with something – hence the Shot Bloks.

We picked up all kinds of other goodies.  My husband and son found lots of free samples to snack on too….

IMG_6316

We headed over to the US Airways Center next door for the SUNS game. We were up in the upper level – the cheap seats. Wow, they are small seats. I fit into them pretty well but I IMG_6315don’t know how I sat in them with another 100 pounds. I do remember them being pretty uncomfortable. We were packed in pretty tightly last night and I’m glad I was so much lighter! I’m taking the “carb loading” pretty seriously (ha ha) and ordered a personal pizza at the game. It wasn’t too greasy and had lots of crust. It IMG_6284was a pretty good choice I think – leading up to the run – not in “real weight maintenance life”.  The basketball game was really good.  The SUNS trailed for most of the game but made a run at the end and had a chance to win.  Dirk Nowitzki had a great game so my son got to see him play a lot.  All in all, I’m glad I was able to turn it into a fun night out with my boys!

********

Well, it is now already 4:30 pm.  I’m trying to relax as much as possible today.  I have just been doing a few little things around the house, trying to stay off my legs as much as possible.  I did make a big pasta lunch with some shrimp.  I made a sauce with probably too much oil though and I’m now worried I’m going to regret that.  Hopefully the race is far enough away that it will all be digested by then.

********

More craziness happened tonight that almost canceled my race plans.  I still haven’t published this…but I will post this for now and finish up later.  Good night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Let’s Roll! – Part 1

  1. Lynn says:

    Good luck …cannot wait to hear your story

    Like

  2. Christy says:

    Have a great race!

    Like

  3. Kathy says:

    Thinking the best for you on such a fantastic adventure in your life 😉

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    Wow! I am just starting Optifast and your transformation is inspiring! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  5. Amanda says:

    Hoping you had a super duper race – and all went well. A product to try while you are running if you do have “tummy problems” – is HEED. My stomach can’t handle Gatorade or Powerade or some other drinks – they are just too sweet and reak havoc on my insides – both my Mom and sister had the same issues – and we all use HEED now (in our water). We haven’t had any of those issues since. Can’t wait to hear about it – hope you are resting and realizing what an accomplishment it is!!

    Like

    • Thanks for the info on HEED. I’m getting ready to write up “Part 2” and then my race report but, surprisingly, my stomach held up really well yesterday despite throwing it a lot of curveballs. I did end up putting the NUUN in my water bottle that I carried in my hydration belt and drinking water and Gatorade on the course. Also had GU and Shot Bloks. So, who knows … I had some issues, but my stomach wasn’t one of them! 🙂

      Like

  6. Great pre-race recap! 🙂 Glad that you were able to make a fun night out of packet pick-up and that your son got to see his favorite player play! I have a hard time with the consistency of GU, but my only experience with it was at a relay race and it was really warm, which I don’t think is ideal. I am curious to try it again and I’d also like to try Shot Bloks. Heading over to read your race re-cap now! 🙂

    Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

