I’m Going to Disneyland!

disneylandSo, yes…heading to Disneyland tomorrow morning.  I could really care less about where I am going – I’m just excited to be taking a road trip with my good friend, Kim.  We have been friends for 40+ years and even though we live near each other again, with 5 kids between the 2 of us, we just don’t get to spend a lot of time catching up lately.  Kim has helped so much over the past year with everything I have gone through with my dad.  Not only is a she a very experienced social worker in the hospital setting (so she understood and could explain everything about Medicare, hospice, insurance, home health, etc. – things that made my head want to spin off) but since she has a long history with my family, my dad trusted her opinion so much and she was a great comfort to me.  Unfortunately, Kim is also in the “club” of those of us that have lost both parents.   Her 2 kids and my son are all on a middle school trip with their choir and band (our boys play on a drum line together) and they are all competing near Disneyland and then participating in 2 workshops within the parks.  Tonight they were going to a “nice” dinner followed by a Broadway type show in LA.  We are taking my 2 girls and heading to CA tomorrow and will attempt to make contact with our children at some point (although we feel sure they would much rather just hang with their friends) and then sign them out from the trip before they are to head back to AZ and spend one more day in the parks with all 5 kids together (and us 2 moms hanging around too).  Should be really fun!

I’ve been really focused on my eating this week and happy that I am now back down in the 3 pound range of my goal – the “green zone”.  This morning I weighed in at 172.6.  Yay!  I’m going to try really hard to not go overboard on this trip to Disneyland.  I’ll allow myself a few of my favorite treats (I think Disneyland has THE best popcorn on earth and, of course, their churros are yummy too!)  I’m going to have my FitBit on for sure, I’m really curious to see how many steps I take during a day at the parks…I’m sure it will be a HUGE number.

Let’s see … what else?  Yesterday I met with the hospice grief counselor again.  She is great.  It was nice to not rehash all the details again, we sort of just jumped into how I was currently doing and some of the different types of emotions I could/would/will go through.  The list was huge.  It made me realize how grief can manifest itself in so many parts of life.  I didn’t really have a chance last time to get into my whole weight loss story with her and more fully explain to her how I was really trying to protect that weight loss by taking my emotional health more seriously after my dad’s death.  We talked about my upcoming Ragnar race and how much I am looking forward to that experience.

For a few weeks I felt like I was completely spinning my wheels dealing with my dad’s estate but suddenly things are clicking along pretty well.  Documents are moving forward and I’m not making tons of dead-end frustrating phone calls.  I’ve been able to obtain legal “personal representative” status so I can speak to companies on the estate’s behalf.  I cannot believe how much I have learned about this crap over the past month.  I guess it is something we “adults” need to understand at some point though.  Ugh.  So, my mood has been pretty good because I feel like I’m making some progress.  I’m finding that I’m much less “snack-y” when I’m not dreading each task.  If I’ve learned anything while losing weight, I now know that nothing drives me to the pantry more than when I’m putting off a task I don’t want to do or don’t really understand what I’m supposed to do.  Funny that as I get over the learning curve of all of this, I’m not eating as much…hmmmmm….

Also, as an update on the contest I was asking for help with a couple of weeks ago on the Scottsdale Weight Loss Facebook page, with each FB “like” my contest entry had, I received an entry in a drawing.  I ended up with by far the most entries, thanks to your help!  I had about a 50/50 chance of winning the grand prize, a weekend at L’Auberge in Sedona, but that didn’t happen.  I did, however, win the next prize (which I was honestly just as happy with) which was a $100 Sports Chalet gift card.  I always see such cute clothes there – and I distinctly remember when I was overweight how much I wished I could fit in some of their clothes.  So, going shopping with the gift card will have an extra special meaning.  Thank you for your support and especially for all of the super nice comments.  This journey has been made even more amazing by all of my friends and family!  Dr. Ziltzer actually called me to tell me about the drawing, which I thought was pretty nice.  We then digressed into a discussion about night running … I did end up night running that evening during my son’s football practice to get ready for Ragnar.

IMG_6813

I sent the picture to Brennan and asked him if I looked like an alien.  He thought that was pretty funny.  I don’t think my son thought it was very cool for me to run anywhere near IMG_6819his football practice like that – but when all the field lights shut off abruptly in the middle of a play, I wasn’t all that embarrassing….  Tonight I put the vest and blinking lights on and ran a solid 3 miles in the neighborhood.  Except for one short traffic light, I didn’t stop at all and pushed really hard.  I ran 3 miles with an 11:00/mi average which was my goal.  I haven’t done that in a few weeks.  I’m pretty sure that any limitations I have now are purely mental and I need to keep pushing myself – my body is trained and should be able to handle it.  Running is SUCH a mind game!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Going to Disneyland!

  1. Lynn Watson says:

    Have a great time with your friend Kim …… Glad you are having a chance to get away ….. Make sure you post pictures of your new outfits from Sports chalet ….

    You are inspiring

    Make a difference today…..

    Lynn

    >

    Like

  2. Lynn says:

    Does your garmin have a heart rate monitor

    Like

    • Hi Lynn, thanks for following along and your supporting comments 🙂 the Garmin is sold with or without the HRM. If purchased without, you can add it later. I went ahead and bought it with one when I bought the new 220. I LOVE this Garmin!!

      Like

  3. Kathy says:

    I was cracking up about how embarrassed your son was about you running near the school. I work in the counseling department of a high school and I see things like that all the time. Have fun at Disneyland. It’s funny, I live less than 2 hours away from there and haven’t been in about 15 years. Btw, congrats on your gift card!

    Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

