Letting Go

Sorry I have not posted in a while.  I made the decision a little over a week ago that I absolutely had to get the estate/garage sale underway and completed at my parents’ house by this weekend.  I have been dragging my feet for a number of reasons.  I have just not had the time to put into getting the house sorted and organized for the sale – it is a huge job.  But, clearly, I was not making it a priority either.  After paying the property taxes, utilities, and bills for pool and yard service for 9+ months, I need to move forward.  I want to get the house on the market sooner than later too.  I’m hopeful it will sell quickly but it could take months.

I have an old friend from childhood that has moved back into the Phoenix area and I hired her as a friend and as someone who was still sensitive to my history there with the house.  She has known me since preschool – so over 40 years.  She was the perfect fit to help sort through the stuff with an objective eye and make decisions as needed.  She also knows her way around a workshop full of tools and hardware and did an awesome job of sorting that disaster for me into piles that we could address.  We spent hours and hours down at the house for a little over a week.  I was not really ready for the sale – which I wanted to start on Friday morning – but I was “ready enough” to go ahead and hold it.  This wasn’t going to be a fancy estate sale – just a garage/estate sale to clear as much stuff as I could out.  I only had about 50% of the items priced, but decided to price throughout the morning or just have people ask if they really wanted an item.  People haggle with the prices anyway, but I hate being in that position and would rather have a sticker on everything.

As we learned in our garage sale at our home several weeks ago, people will buy just about anything for under $1 but have no interest in anything large – especially furniture – even if you are practically giving it away.  I thought a La-Z-Boy chair for $10 was a steal but after 2 days of the sale, it is still at the house.  We rented a U-Haul and took furniture from our house down to my dad’s that did not sell and, unfortunately, still did not make much progress with it.  I guess it will just be donated.  But every scrap of cheap plastic was sold – because it was under $1.  I put racks of clothes out for $1 – tons of it sold.  So, in that respect, we did pretty good.  It was so hard to put 45+ years of your parents things on the driveway then haggle with people over paying 50 cents for something.  I am grateful my husband came down on Saturday and handled most of that.  I did a lot of it on Friday.  Overall, I did pretty well during the sale but Thursday morning and Saturday afternoon I really broke down – hard.  Uncontrollable sobbing that took my breath away.  I was due for that and it did help me get through the 2 days of the sales.  I was actually totally fine while I was at the house, which surprised me.

Anyway, without re-hashing the gory details, we did OK.  I got some cash out of the items and cleared out a lot of things.  What I have left is probably more manageable to box/bag up and get moved into the garage for a donation truck.  I’ll probably sell some of the smaller and potentially more valuable things on eBay when I get a chance.  Those things I can bring back to my house – as long as it isn’t too many.  I’m still struggling to find a home for the items I’m trying to keep.  It was THE greatest feeling in the world when we wrapped up on Saturday afternoon.

So, the next step is to get some quotes from contractors for some minor renovations inside.  I’m looking into removing the popcorn ceilings then re-texturing and painting the interior.  I’ll most likely switch out the flooring too – the carpet is in good shape but it is avocado green and dated.  I know the new owners are most likely going to completely gut the house and remodel most of it, but I’d like to sell it a bit more updated and less as an “AS IS project house” and, therefore, less value.  I will have to weigh the rate of return for any money I will put into it.  It’s hard too, because I want the house to look good when it goes on the market as a matter of family pride I guess.  But, I can’t remodel the whole thing and figuring out where to stop and start that sort of thing is really hard.

Aaaand, my exercise has definitely suffered during all of this.  I made it to the gym a few times and ran a handful of times as well.  Football practice has moved to a new location that is not very conducive to running so my old stand-by of running at the high school got messed up too.  I’m hoping to get back to that routine this week.  I need to, because I have another half marathon on the schedule on December 14th.  My eating has been pretty decent.  Up until today, I had pretty much lost my appetite so I was totally fine living on protein bars and shakes.  I had the occasional Greek yogurt or some other decent meal, but didn’t do too badly.  My weight was starting to ease back down, well into the “green zone” of my newer goal range.  The last 2 days, however, I have been snacking much more and I did get off plan.  But, I did walk for almost 1.5 hours today with my neighbor at a really quick pace, so I helped burn some too.  We’ll see where I stand tomorrow.  Except for Thanksgiving day, I’m going to be focused because my next weigh-in is in about 8 days.  I really want to be under 175 pounds.  Really.  We’ll see how that goes…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Letting Go

  1. Christy says:

    Martha, you’re dealing with a lot right now and have met the challenges head-on. I’m glad you got the chance to let your emotions out in a good, healthy release. Sending hugs to you during this time. You’re showing great self-care by being super conscious of your eating, and slipping in bits of exercise. You should be very proud of yourself regardless of what the scale says next week (though I’m sure you’ll be happy with the outcome!)

    Like

    • Thanks, Christy! As of this morning, I am BELOW my “reset” goal weight! So happy about that. I’ll probably go up a bit with Thanksgiving but have a few days until my weigh in to try to bring it back down. Thank you for your support!

      Like

  2. Sending you a big hug, Martha! It is so much to deal with and this time of year is really hard. I had a breakdown on the way home from work the other day and I’ve just been generally in a funk lately. I think it’s largely grief related, but I, too, have been slacking on working out and have been eating like crap. I’m glad that your friend was able to help you out and get to the point where the estate/garage sale was manageable. Keep leaning on your friends and family! Wishing you and your family a very happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

    • Sending hugs right back at ‘ya, Laura. I’m sorry you’ve been in a funk. I hope you can find your groove – we owe it to ourselves to stay on the path we have started on to get healthy. I hope you and your family have a very nice Thanksgiving!

      Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

