Registering for the Registry

Way back in April as I celebrated my one-year of maintenance, I also registered with the National Weight Control Registry.  I wrote about it here in my blog post but, in summary, criteria for being on the registry is that you have lost a minimum of 30 pounds and kept it off for 1 or more years.  The NWCR “is the largest prospective investigation of long-term successful weight loss maintenance. Given the prevailing belief that few individuals succeed at long-term weight loss, the NWCR was developed to identify and investigate the characteristics of individuals who have succeeded at long-term weight loss. The NWCR is tracking over 10,000 individuals who have lost significant amounts of weight and kept it off for long periods of time.”

IMG_0778(2)It took close to 6 months before they mailed out the registration packet for me to fill out.  I noticed that it requested medical records and permission to speak to my healthcare/weight loss physician so I put it aside until I had my next appointment with Dr. Ziltzer.  I’m excited that I have maintained my weight loss and can participate.  We will be asked to complete on-line questionnaires for the next 10 years.  It makes me think, at some point along the way, if I have derailed my weight maintenance for some reason (God, I hope not), but I have to think that getting these surveys sent to me for 10 years will be a big wake up call to get back to business.  I would think I will want to always be able to answer positively about my experience and success.  This is just one more small “tool” in my master plan to keep me focused for the long haul.

IMG_0777(2)

As I mentioned in my post yesterday, my weigh-in appointment with Dr. Z was this morning.  I am happy to report that I ended up weighing 174.2 at home first thing this morning, which was way better than I was expecting.  I did really stick to meal replacements yesterday, drank lots of water, and went on that 3+ mile run/walk last night.  So, it worked!  I weighed in, fully clothed, at 176 which was a 1 lb. loss from my last appointment in late October.

I followed through with my “positive attitude plan” during my appointment and used the time to talk to Dr. Z about more fun things – like his completion of the Ironman a couple of weeks ago and my Ragnar Trail.  It was fun to share our race experiences.  He was happy about the one pound loss but we really didn’t dwell on the weight stuff much – I just told him that things are going pretty well and I’m hanging in there with my plan and eating.  For now, my current weight is fine with me and I seem to be doing OK maintaining in this general range.  I asked him about the NWCR paperwork and he was happy to hear that I was going through the process to register – I guess he doesn’t get too many of his patients to follow through with it, even though he has mentioned it to them in the past.  I asked him if he could print out anything from my electronic charts to send them so he printed the entire thing out – all 2 years worth… not sure if I’ll send all of it, but I’m kind of happy to have it myself.  I can only imagine what is in all of those notes on me – I haven’t read through it all yet.  The NWCR also asked for photographs – before, after, etc. so I printed some of those up at Costco today since I was going.  So, I have a little packet of stuff to mail in along with my study participation agreement … probably more than they are looking for, but they did ask for this stuff.

Anyway, I’m really glad that I had a good appointment.  My frustrations, etc. the past few times have been entirely of my own doing and I’m happy that I turned my attitude around, because being frustrated with “maintaining” a weight loss like I have is pretty crazy.  Obviously we can always fine tune our goals, but life is too short to get so worked up over a few pounds or fat %.  We’ve come a long long way…

IMG_0824(2)

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Registering for the Registry

  1. Tami says:

    Proud of you! 🙂

    Like

  2. Lynn says:

    Great you have followed through … I never did …. Also I am liking your attitutude …. We sometimes forget how far we have come …. The journey is important also …..

    Like

    • Yes, sometimes we need a little perspective I guess. I’m not giving up on getting back down to the original goal weight and losing body fat % – but it doesn’t need to happen before Christmas. There is enough craziness going on right now!

      Like

  3. Congratulations, Martha! I’m so glad that you are going to register for the registry! That’s wonderful. I also love the collage you posted; it’s easy to get frustrated with weight loss and maintenance, but it’s so good to look at the whole journey and where we started from to put everything into perspective! 🙂

    Like

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

