Standstill…

Just posting to say that I have nothing to post.  My weight could not be more stagnant.  I seem to weigh within the same 0.2-0.4 lb. range day in and day out – no matter what I do.  It is almost amusing now.  I guess I’m glad that I’m not packing on the pounds, but I really expected to be steadily declining since my eating has been on track and I’m exercising now.  I’ll stay the course…

School starts this week for my 2nd and 3rd child.  They have their schedules and are old enough to mostly be dreading the start of the grind.  My son is now deep into football workouts and adding his very intense class load (4 AP classes) should, to be honest, suck for him.  My little gymnast is venturing into the show choir experience in middle school (like her big sister), so I’m excited to see if she enjoys that this year.  The big thing we are waiting for, however, is departing with our oldest to Dallas next week to move her into her freshman dorm.  I’m super excited for her but dreading the “ugly cry” as I leave her on campus and we fly home without her.  I’m tearing up now just typing that…

In addition to school starting for my own kids, it is not starting for me, the teacher.  I wondered if I would be bummed that I had not committed to another year.  Um…no.  I am even more sure of my decision right now.  I do have all of my paperwork in to be a substitute teacher so we’ll see if I pick up any dates doing that.  It would be fun to see my old students but not spend my nights creating lessons and grading…

I only went to one SPPT workout last week due to some meetings on our calendar, but I actually couldn’t even walk for a couple of days after the first workout anyway.  I did keep up with the running training though and move on to week 3 of half marathon training this week.  I’m trying to stay consistent but forgiving.  Today I went back to my SPPT workout with Nick the trainer.  I was the only one there … so the “semi-private” workout was “private”.  I had to stop and modify every few minutes.  I am soooo out of shape.  Nick was nice about it and remained encouraging but we both know I’m a long way from where I had been.  He said he saw an improvement over just last week though.  Hopefully I’ll be less sore than I was after the last workout and this will all continue to get easier.

img_2731Spent a quick 24 hours at our cabin this weekend.  I did quite a bit of walking and did my 3 mile run Sunday morning around the area.  It was nice to run outside, although the altitude and hills made it pretty challenging!

Monday night I attended the Success Club at SWLC.  I was, for a while, the only “old-timer” there but another veteran showed up later on.  These meetings are mostly for the newer people to get questions answered by the docs.  I just try to contribute to questions about maintenance or personal experience.  Whenever someone expresses an interest in running or exercise I usually chime in about that as well.  I probably scare some of the them when they see the realities of struggling with maintenance.  I think they need to see that this process and the continued work is part of  “the journey”.

I weigh in with the medical assistant on Thursday.  At this point, I’ll be thrilled if I’ve lost one pound.  Wow, my expectations have changed…

So, I have to say I’m in a weird sort of limbo.  I’m not really sure what my next step will be professionally.  Many things are changing in my little world, especially with my daughter leaving home.  Change is coming, like it or not – it’s a good time to be very mindful of how it is all impacting me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I would love to hear from you! Please let me know about your journey, how you found this blog, any questions, etc.

